Save up to $947/year with New Jersey pay-per-mile car insurance
Car insurance based on your driving habits
The less you drive, the more you could save
Same great coverage—for less money
Pay-per-mile car insurance in New Jersey
And if you’re a low-mileage driver in New Jersey we’ve got some excellent news: If you drive fewer than 10,000 miles per year, you might be able to save a lot on your auto insurance bill by choosing a new way to insure your car: pay-per-mile auto insurance from Metromile.
That’s why Metromile can be an excellent choice for retirees, people who work from home, or people who live in urban areas and use public transportation. Our customers can save up to $947* per year, in fact—and if you’re a low-mileage driver, it won’t take long to see how much you could save.
Coverage type and New Jersey minimum requirements
New Jersey minimum requirements
What New Jersey customers say
“After finding Metromile, not only do I save over $120 a month, but the simplicity of Metromile is just superb.“
“Best insurance I’ve had thus far. My car died on the highway, and they were there for me in under 30 minutes. Super supportive when needed to help with my car.”
“Rates have been very affordable and customer service has always been very responsive and helpful.“
“I highly recommend Metromile. This is an auto insurance breakthrough. I have saved $55 a month.“
“Amazing rates and super quick response to emails! The agent helping me was amazing. Won’t go with anyone else ever again.”
“I don’t go out regularly now, with my wife being retired too. I don’t need to pay when I don’t use it. I love it.“
How much is pay-per-mile coverage in New Jersey
So, how much is car insurance in New Jersey? Your rate for auto insurance will depend on several factors, such as where you park your car at night, your vehicle’s make and model, and the exact coverages you choose. But another major factor is the number of miles you drive per year, and that’s why Metromile’s pay-per-mile coverage can be surprisingly affordable for low-mileage drivers—that is, people who drive fewer than 10,000 miles per year.
Metromile’s policies start as low as $29 per month for the base rate (and as little as 6 cents per mile for the per mile rate). If you only drive fifty miles in a month, you’ll only pay for fifty miles in a month (in addition to the base rate, of course!).
That’s why low-mileage customers love Metromile. Our customers have saved up to $947* per year on their car insurance policies!
Is New Jersey a no-fault car insurance state?
Do you need car insurance in New Jersey?
Yes, every New Jersey driver is legally required to purchase auto insurance.
What are the state minimum requirements in New Jersey?
New Jersey’s car insurance laws outline two kinds of policies—standard and basic. Every driver is required to have at least a basic policy, which includes the following minimums:
- A $5,000 limit for property damage
- A Personal Injury Protection limit of $15,000 per person, per accident
(Note that New Jersey’s “basic” policy is extremely minimal and most drivers will want more protection!)
What coverage options do you offer?
Even though you can pay less with pay-per-mile insurance, you’ll still have the same great coverage that you’re used to. We offer four different levels of liability protection as well as choices for your comprehensive and collision deductibles. Please keep in mind that financing and leasing companies may have their own coverage requirements, so please verify before choosing your coverage limits.
Can I still get the same coverage options?
Yes! You’ll still have the same amazing coverage that you are used to, with various deductibles and optional comp & collision coverage.
Do you offer full coverage?
We offer four different levels of liability protection as well as choices for your comprehensive and collision deductibles. Please keep in mind that financing and leasing companies may have their own coverage requirements, so please verify before choosing your coverage limits.