If you’re thinking of moving to Oregon or already have, you will need to register your car in Oregon. If you already live in Oregon and purchase a vehicle in the state, you’ll have to register it, too. Here is everything you might need to know to register a car in Oregon.
Why you need to register a car in Oregon?
If you’re an Oregon resident, you’ll need to register your car in Oregon by law. Drivers need to register their vehicles with the Department of Motor Vehicles. Doing so creates a link between the driver, vehicle, and the state.
Who needs to register a car in Oregon?
If you recently moved to Oregon or purchased a new or used vehicle, you’ll need to register your car in Oregon. You’ll need to go to the local DMV office to get the process started to register your car.
In Oregon, you must get a new vehicle title or replacement title to register your car.
How to register a car in Oregon?
Whether you moved or bought a car in Oregon, you’re going to need to get set up with Oregon vehicle registration. The first step to get started is to title your vehicle in Oregon.
If you’re wondering how to register a car in Oregon, here are the steps to get started with your Oregon Vehicle Registration.
- Fill out an Oregon title application
- Bring original ownership documentation
- Any lien releases
- The bill of sale
- Odometer disclosure
- Any applicable fees, such as title fees and registration fees – you can check out the state’s fee calculator tool to get started
- Requirements based on your vehicle or your situation
- Provide proof of auto insurance
If you moved from out-of-state to Oregon or purchased your vehicle in a different state, you’ll also need to:
- Get a vehicle identification number (VIN) inspection for $7
- Potentially get a Use Tax Certificate
- Proof of Oregon residency
In order to get your car registered in Oregon, you must provide proof of residency or eligibility. Typically, you need to live or stay in Oregon at least six months out of the year and pay taxes in Oregon. To provide proof of residency, you’ll need to fill out the Certification of Oregon Residency or Domicile and share documents, such as bank records or utility bills.
Since the title and car registration must happen concurrently, you can make an appointment with the Oregon DMV for a title. You have 30 days to transfer a title into your name or after moving to Oregon.
If you purchased a vehicle in Oregon in the past 30 days, you need to fill out the bottom part of Form 6775. You’ll want to make copies of all your documentation for this process and mail the originals as well as any required fees to:
1905 Lana Ave NE
Salem, OR 97314
The address may change, so we recommend visiting the Oregon DMV website for the latest information.
You may also need to pass a DEQ emissions test. If you have a newer vehicle, you may be exempt from this requirement.
If you purchased a car at a car dealership in Oregon, the registration process is typically taken care of for you. But if not, you can follow the steps above and make sure you provide proper documentation to get an Oregon vehicle registration.
How much does it cost to register a car in Oregon?
The costs to register a car in Oregon depend on a number of factors. Here is a title fee chart and associated costs from the Oregon DMV website:
|Passenger vehicles and trucks (26,000 pounds or less gross vehicle weight rating)||Fee|
|Vehicle year 1999 or older||$98|
|Vehicle year 2000 or newer, has a combined rating of 0-19 miles per gallon||$98|
|Vehicle year 2000 or newer, has a combined rating of 20-39 miles per gallon||$103|
|Vehicle year 2000 or newer, has a combined rating of 40 miles per gallon or more||$113|
|Other title fees||Fee|
|Light railers, travel trailers, campers, park model RVs||$98|
|Motorcycles or mopeds||$98|
|Heavy vehicle title||$90|
|Late title transfer fee (31-60 days)||$25|
|Late title transfer fee (61 days or more)||$50|
Here is a registration fee chart for passenger vehicles and associated costs from the Oregon DMV website:
|Fee Type||When fee is due for passenger vehicles||Fee|
|Plate||Vehicle does not have Oregon plates||$24.50|
|Registration/Renewal||Vehicle year is 1999 or older||$122|
|Vehicle year is 2000 or newer, has a combined rating of 0-19 miles per gallon||$122|
|Vehicle year is 2000 or newer, has a combined rating of 20-39 miles per gallon||$132|
|Vehicle year is 2000 or newer, has a combined rating of 40 miles per gallon or more||$152|
|Vehicle is all-electric||$306|
|County||You reside and/or the vehicle stays in Multnomah County||$112|
|You reside and/or the vehicle stays in Washington or Clackamas County||$60|
|Transfer Plates||Moving Oregon plates onto another vehicle (you will also owe the registration/county fees if you do not own the vehicle the plates were removed from)||$6|
Is proof of insurance required to register a car in Oregon?
If you need to register a car in Oregon, you must provide proof of insurance. In Oregon, it’s illegal to drive without liability coverage, and there are minimum insurance requirements you must meet.
The state minimum requirements for auto insurance in Oregon are:
- Bodily injury and property damage liability
- $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident in bodily injury liability coverage
- $20,000 per accident in property damage liability coverage
- Personal injury protection
- $15,000 per person
- Uninsured motorist bodily injury coverage
- $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident
You might also want to consider higher limits or additional insurance coverage, such as collision and comprehensive coverage for extra peace of mind.
When registering your vehicle, you’ll typically need to provide your auto insurance policy number. If you need auto insurance, you can check out Metromile’s pay-per-mile car insurance coverage to see if you can get a better rate than your existing insurer. Many Oregon drivers choose Metromile for their auto insurance coverage.
The bottom line
If you purchased a car or just made a move to Oregon, make sure you’re up-to-date with registering your vehicle and getting the minimum insurance coverage needed to be in good standing.
If you want to check your auto insurance rates to make sure you’re getting the best deal, get a free quote from Metromile and try pay-per-mile auto insurance.
Pay-per-mile insurance is usage-based auto insurance where your rate is based on how much you drive. You’ll pay a low base rate and then a few cents for each mile you drive. If you live in Oregon and don’t drive often or frequently use public transportation, you may be able to save with Metromile and pay-per-mile insurance.
Melanie Lockert is a freelance writer, podcast host of the Mental Health and Wealth show, and author of Dear Debt. She’s a cat mom to two jazzy cats, Miles and Thelonious, an amateur boxer, music lover, and needs coffee to function.