Save up to $947/year with California pay-per-mile car insurance

  • Car insurance based on how much you drive
  • The less you drive, the more you could save
  • Same great coverage—for less money

Pay-per-mile car insurance in California

Whether you’re a newcomer to the Golden State or you’ve lived here for decades, you likely already know the law: Car insurance is legally required to drive in California. (That requirement makes a lot of sense, too—car insurance is valuable protection for everyone on the road, since it helps ensure that no one gets stuck with a huge liability bill after an accident.)

What you might not know, though, is that if you’re a low-mileage driver—especially if you drive less than 10,000 miles per year—you might be able to save a lot on your car insurance policy with Metromile’s pay-per-mile car insurance.
Here’s how pay-per-mile works: With Metromile, you’ll pay a consistent monthly base rate that starts at as low as $29/month. Then, you’ll pay a rate that could be as low as 6 cents per mile you drive. In other words, you’ll pay for the miles you actually drive. On the months you drive less, your bill will be lower—it all makes good sense! (Worried about road trips? Don’t be. Metromile caps your daily mileage at 250 miles.)

With Metromile, the less you drive, the more you could save. That’s why plenty of drivers who work from home, are retired, or who also use public transportation have saved by getting a Metromile quote.

Coverage type and California minimum requirements

Coverage

Bodily Injury Liability covers other people’s injuries after an accident that you’ve caused.
Property Damage Liability covers damage to someone else’s property after you cause an accident.
UMBI helps pay for injuries in your vehicle when the at-fault driver doesn’t have auto insurance.
Underinsured Motorist pays for injuries in your vehicle when the at-fault driver doesn’t have enough coverage.
Medical Payments helps cover the medical expenses of you and your passengers after an accident.
Collision helps pay for damage to your vehicle after an accident—regardless of fault.
Comprehensive coverage can help  repair or replace your vehicle for loss not caused by collision.
Rental coverage can pay for your rental car after an accident (when conditions are met).
Roadside assistance pays to send help when you have a car issue.

California minimum requirements

$15,000 limit per person/$30,000 limit per accident
$5,000 limit
No requirement
No requirement
No requirement
No legal requirement, though it may be required by your lender
No legal requirement, though it may be required by your lender
No requirement
No requirement

What California customers say

“Switching over to Metromile, I’ve saved almost $1,000 a year and am very satisfied. The savings allowed me to buy a brand-new truck!”

Richard B.
Orange County, California

“We live in San Francisco and only use the car on occasional weekends, so Metromile is perfect for us. We park on the street and get texts to tell us when there is street cleaning.

Emily P.
San Francisco, California

“I don’t drive tons, but I do a few roundtrips from San Francisco to Tahoe here and there. I have saved myself around $300/year on auto insurance.”

Rennea C.
San Francisco, California

Excellent service, excellent support. Much easier to deal with than any prior insurance company I have ever used.”

Karl M.
Milpitas, California

“I have saved over $150 each month, and their customer service is great. It was super easy to file a claim, all done virtually; they were responsive and handled my claim quickly.

Dana H.
Los Angeles, California

“I’m literally saving $100+ per month now that both of my cars are on Metromile.”

Ernest O.
Larkspur, California

How much is pay-per-mile coverage in California

How much is car insurance in California? Your rate for California auto insurance coverage will depend on several factors, such as the model and year of your vehicle, the coverages you choose, and even the address where you park the car at night. That said, pay-per-mile coverage through Metromile can be very affordable—more affordable than you might think! (Especially if you drive fewer than 10,000 miles per year. )

For example, with Metromile you can get a California car insurance policy for a low monthly base premium that starts at only $29 per month. Then, you’ll pay as little as 6 cents per mile for each mile you drive. In other words, you pay for the miles you actually drive. If you only drive fifty miles per month, you’ll only pay for fifty miles per month (plus the base rate, of course).

That’s why low-mileage drivers in California can save a lot with Metromile. On average, our customers save up to $947* per year on car insurance.

Get a 2-min Quote

Why get car insurance from Metromile?

• You could save up to 47%* with pay-per-mile insurance coverage.

• Clear communication and 24/7 peace of mind

• Get a quote in 2 minutes!

Car Insurance California FAQ

For more information, please visit the Help Center.

See all of our FAQs

What is full coverage car insurance in California?

First of all, “California full coverage car insurance” doesn’t exist—technically. There’s no one single policy that will cover you in every situation you might face as a California driver.You may still hear the term, though, and that’s because some people use “full coverage” to mean a policy that includes liability coverage to protect other drivers as well as comprehensive and collision coverages for your own vehicle.In any case, Metromile makes it easy to choose the coverages that are right for your situation.

How to self-insure your car in California?

First, know that self-insuring your car is not recommended for most drivers. When you apply for a certificate of self-insurance, you’re accepting responsibility for all liability associated with your vehicle when you cause an accident—no matter how big the bill is.

If you believe that self-insurance is the right choice for you, you can contact the California Department of Motor Vehicles and submit an application. (Keep in mind that you’ll need to leave a cash deposit of $35,000 with the DMV for as long as you’re self-insured.)

What are the state minimum requirements in California?

Here are California’s minimum car insurance requirements:

  • A $15,000 limit for bodily injury to one person (and $30,000 limit per accident)
  • A $5,000 limit for property damage

What coverage options do you offer?

Even though you can pay less with pay-per-mile insurance, you’ll still have the same great coverage that you’re used to. We offer four different levels of liability protection as well as choices for your comprehensive and collision deductibles. Please keep in mind that financing and leasing companies may have their own coverage requirements, so please verify before choosing your coverage limits.

Can I still get the same coverage options?

Yes! You’ll still have the same amazing coverage that you are used to, with various deductibles and optional comp & collision coverage.

Do you offer full coverage?

We offer four different levels of liability protection as well as choices for your comprehensive and collision deductibles. Please keep in mind that financing and leasing companies may have their own coverage requirements, so please verify before choosing your coverage limits.